Donate Give Monthly


Donate Give Monthly

Email SignUp

Stay connected and receive updates from Opportunity International Australia.

Follow Us


PO Box A524
Sydney South NSW 1235, Level 11, 227 Elizabeth Street Sydney NSW 2000

Telephone: 1800 812 164

© 2024 Opportunity International AustraliaABN 83 003 805 043

About Us The Council

A small group of respected and influential Australians, the Council brings wisdom and experience, advocates on behalf of families living in poverty and encourages others to get involved.

Walter Lewin (Chair)
Chair of Opportunity International Australia – see Board of Directors for his bio.

Hon John Anderson AC
Former Deputy Prime Minister of Australia and leader of the National Party of Australia 1999-2005, Member for Gwydir NSW 1989-2005 and now farmer and grazier in north-western NSW.

Malcolm Broomhead AO
Chair of Orica Limited, Director of Walter Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research. Former Director of BHP Group Limited, former Chair of Asciano Limited, and former Director of Coates Hire Group. Former Managing Director and CEO of Orica, and North Limited.

Peter Cadwallader
Executive Chair of the Intercontinental Shipping and Investment Group, Patron and former Chair of Many Rivers Microfinance Ltd and former Director of Opportunity.

Carolyn Hewson AO
Director of CSL Limited and Infrastructure SA, Director of Reserve Bank of Australia and Patron Impact 100 SA. Previously a Director of BHP, Stockland Corp, Chair and Trustee of Westpac Foundation and Member of the Federal Government Growth Centres Advisory Board.

Greg Hutchinson AM
Advisory Partner, Bain & Company, Trustee The Nature Conservancy (Australia), former Director Paul Ramsay Foundation, Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, Brandenburg Foundation, Workplace Giving Australia, Goodstart Early Learning, Bell Shakespeare, Centre for Social Impact and Women's Community Shelters.

Michael Kasprowicz
General Manager of Pooled Pty Ltd, Director of Bulls Masters Pty Ltd, previously Non-executive Director of Cricket Australia and former Board Member of the DFAT-appointed Australia India Council.

Edward (Ted) Kerr OAM
Chair, Barbara May Foundation, former Chair and Director of Opportunity International Australia, former Director Workplace Giving Australia Limited and former Partner of Mallesons Stephen Jaques (now King & Wood Mallesons).

Andrew Tyndale
CIO at Wesley Mission, Chair of Payton Capital Limited, former Chair of Bupa Aged Care ANZ, The Funding Network, Library For All and Opportunity International Australia.

Joanna White
Former Chair (2018-2023) and Director (2011-2023) of Opportunity International Australia. Director of Mission Australia, Green Eco Technologies, FC Capital and FC Funds Management.

Dr Timothy Wright AM
Educational mentor and coach, previously Headmaster at two Australian independent schools, including Headmaster of Shore from 2003-2019. His passionate interest is the relevance and practical impact of the gospel of Jesus Christ in our world.

Opportunity would like to thank and acknowledge the service of former Council member, Annie Crawford AM, who stepped down in 2023.

Stay in Touch